EMS Personnel

 

NOTE: Paperwork submitted in person is accepted only Mon., Wed., & Fri. 8 AM to noon.  If you need to submit paperwork outside of these days/times, you must call 415-473-6871 to make an appointment.
Please allow up to 30 days for processing.

Marin County EMT Certification and Re-certification

Click here for the Marin County EMS livescan form

EMT CERTIFICATION/RECERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

  • Be 18 years of age or older and apply in person at the EMS office
  • Present a valid government-issued photo identification
  • Complete a DOJ/FBI background check (live scan fingerprint) for :
    • new applicants
    • those changing certifying entity
      Note: must use the Marin EMS Agency specific form
  • Complete and sign the Marin County EMS Agency EMT application
  • Pay fees (Marin is $15; State is $75 for initial or $37 for recertification).  Visa, MasterCard, Discover, check or money order (for $90 or $52) payable to “County of Marin”.  Cash is accepted only if it is the exact amount.
    Note: The initial State fee also applies to all who do not yet have a State Registry EMT card
  • Present the following original documents:
    • Valid Healthcare Provider CPR card (or equivalent)
      INITIAL CERTIFICATION:
    • National Registry EMT certificate (8.5 x 11 certificate, not the wallet card)
    • EMT course completion certificate issued within the last two (2) years
      RECERTIFICATION:
    • Skills verification form
    • Twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education hours (CEH) from an approved provider
      • For certification lapses of 6 months to less than 12 months an additional 12 hours of CEH is required (36 hours total)
      • For certification lapses of 12 months to less than 24 months an additional 24 hours of CEH is required (48 hours total) and the applicant must pass the NREMT written and skills certification exam
      • Certification lapses greater than 24 months are not eligible for recertification

The application includes these statements:

Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor offense in California or in any other state or place, including entering a plea of nolo contendere or no contest, including any conviction which has been expunged (set aside) under Penal Code Section 1203.4?

Are there any criminal charges currently pending against you?

Have you ever had a certification, accreditation, or professional healing arts license denied, suspended, revoked or placed on probation, or are you under investigation at this time?

Per policy, Agency will issue card within 45 days from receiving  a complete application (including  background check results).  Most cards will be issued within 1 -2 weeks.

For detailed information regarding this information see Marin County EMS Agency Policy #3200, EMT Certification/Recertification

Marin County Paramedic Accreditation Requirements

Submit copy of EMT-P License issued in California

Submit Paramedic Application form

Submit copy of California Drivers License

Pay $75.00 fee (payable to "County of Marin")

Submit letter of proof of employment with a Marin County provider agency

Submit signed acknowledgement of orientation to system and protocols

Pass Marin County protocol test with 80% accuracy

Marin County Paramedic Continuous Accreditation Requirements

Submit copy of EMT-P License issued in California

Submit copy of Annual Policy Update certificate

Submit Paramedic Application

Paramedic Intern Application

Paramedic Intern Application Form